North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

July 5, 1978

Subject:

Motor Vehicles; Chauffeur's License

Requested By:

Toni Foxwell Transportation Planning Section Department of Transportation

Question:

Does North Carolina law require volunteer operators, operating their own vehicle of less than nine passenger capacity, transporting elderly citizens to nutrition sites, to hold a chauffeur's license if such owner/operator is reimbursed once for mileage at the rate of 15 cents per mile?

Conclusion:

No, reimbursement at the rate of 15 cents per mile would not be transporting persons or property for compensation.

The generally accepted reimbursement rate is 15 cents per mile for a private passenger vehicle and, as such, is considered reimbursement for actual costs. Under the requirements for chauffeur's license, reimbursement for actual costs would not fall within the definition ". . . transportation of persons or property for compensation." In our opinion, such reimbursement would not be for compensation.

Rufus L. Edmisten Attorney General

William W. Melvin Deputy Attorney General